The Art Gardner


Trial By Fire
February 23, 2010, 7:57 pm
Filed under: Grant Writing

I am using my first official blog post for The Art Gardner to decompress. In my quest to transition from corporate marketing/sales into nonprofit marketing/development, I am trying to become as well-rounded and educated about the nonprofit world as possible.

This week, I am taking classes for a program through Emory to become a Certified Grant Writer. I took the Intro to Grant Writing portion of the program a few weeks ago at the Alpharetta campus and decided that I liked it enough to invest in the full program. I also learned that my next position had better not require me to get on the Atlanta highways for my commute. I had forgotten how hellish 85 is during rush hour. Luckily, most arts organizations are inside the perimeter–score.

As I pulled up to the Emory Briarcliff campus early this morning and encountered a series of buildings that can only be described as communist-block, Alpharetta started to look better. But thankfully, the classrooms are cosy and clean with state-of-the-art facilities. The class is a two-day intensive “hands-on” workshop. I come to find out that this means I have to write an entire proposal by tomorrow at 2 pm. Well, I guess that’s how the real world works. I’m up for the challenge. I just hope I have made enough progress by dinner to watch American Idol’s Top 24 show. Such is the life of The Art Gardner–juggling work with reality TV.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

