The Art Gardner


Of Capstones and Billy Goats
March 4, 2010, 9:36 pm
Filed under: Grant Writing, Job Search | Tags: , ,

Tonight I had my Capstone Class for my Grant Writing Certificate Program at Emory. This was our last meeting prior to submitting our final project. I have decided to make my final project a business and marketing plan for a consulting business. While my ultimate goal is to work in marketing or development in a nonprofit fulltime, I will certainly still utilize my skills to freelance as a grant researcher/writer until that happens. It seemed the best fit  as far as a project given my current situation.

As far as staying occupied until the right job comes along–I’m doing very nicely, thank you. In fact, I’m incredibly busy with volunteering, interning, consulting, and networking. I started my internship at the Center for Puppetry Arts this week. The first thing I did was watch a shadow puppet show. I saw Hobey Ford’s Three Billy Goats Gruff and Other Tales in the downstairs theater and thoroughly enjoyed it. After, we were even able to go backstage to see how he accomplished what I would consider an extraordinary feat. He’s a one-man-show operating sound, lights, several puppets, and scenery all at once.  The rest of the time there I did some writing for an upcoming direct mail piece and proofread next season’s program guide. There’s a lot of cool programming coming up at the Center–including adult shows. Stay tuned.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

