The Art Gardner


Nonprofit Career Conference – Check
March 23, 2010, 7:48 pm
Filed under: Job Search | Tags: ,

Today was the Nonprofit Career Conference sponsored by Opportunity Knocks and the Georgia Center for Nonprofits. I learned a few new things, but I do think they geared it toward people who are in the beginning stages of exploring nonprofit work. I have been living and breathing it over the past couple of months and I felt like a lot of the information in the sessions was redundant for me personally.

The part of the day that held the greatest interest for me was the ability to spend 10 minutes with career consultants who would offer one-on-one guidance on your resumé and career path. It turns out 10 minutes is not nearly long enough. Perhaps they will consider upping it to 15 or 20 next time. By the time I had stopped explaining what I was all about, the consultant only had a few minutes to give my resumé a cursory glance and declare that it needed to be shortened by a page. Okay, so maybe I’m a bit long-winded in person AND on paper–still not too helpful.

One highlight of the event was a session that was co-presented by Michelle “Chelle” Shell (LOVE that name) of  Opportunity Knocks and Ragan Kellams, HR Director at IQ Interactive, entitled Job Search Strategies; Tools of the Trade. I went in skeptical because I’ve been a recruiter and I fancy myself a real pro at job-hunting. Boy was I surprised. Not only did they share tons of useful information and new ideas, but they had us all rolling in the aisles along the way. I’m telling you–they were like the Thelma and Louise of Human Resources. Love.

Overall, a good conference, especially for those just starting to explore. I will leave you with a few facts I learned, which I found quite interesting. Keep your eyes open–we are everywhere.

Did you know:

There are 1.5+ million nonprofits in the United States.

12.5 million people are employed by nonprofits.

Nonprofits represent 8.11% of all wages and salaries (and keep in mind nonprofits don’t pay much).

Nonprofit growth over the next few years is projected in health and human services. (The Art Gardner will not be discouraged.)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

health and human services, huh? well, is it too late to get a nursing degree? or a phlebotomy certification? (JOKE!JOKE!)

Comment by Jackie Jenkins




Leave a Reply

